CLICK HERE for vowel slide materials

Vowel slides help the student identify variant correspondences in words by sliding letters and creating words. The student then blends the sounds and determines if it is a real word or nonsense word. If it is a real word, they record the word on paper.

I used this intervention with my lunch buddy one day and I wasn’t sure how it would go. Typically we play fun games on the iPad so I wasn’t sure she would enjoy this as much, but she did! She even took it upon herself to draw a table on the board with all the words we found for each vowel pattern and then total up the words for each column. I would recommend laminating the vowel slides since it initially takes a while to cut out all the pieces. It will make it sturdier and allow it to slide easier.

